Airfix 1/48 Spitfire Mk XIVc highback

This one started life in the Spitfire/Seafire GB, but I am a slow builder and ran out of time completing it. I'll post the continuation of the build here if I may.

This one is a highback, 'C' wing conversion of the Airfix Spitfire XIVe kit, representing NH698, DL-F flown by Ken Collier of 91 Squadron. Ken was apparently flying this plane when he was the credited as the first pilot to 'tip' a V1 out of the sky using his wingtip.

The build now has paint, decals, some light weathering, wear and tear added, and is waiting on a finishing satin coat and D-Day stripes before final assembly. I took the Squadron codes, serial and nose letter from an Airfix Spitfire Mk XII (2 decal sheets used). This kit has DL-K; the 'K' was modified into an 'F'. The serial characters were also taken from this sheet, with the 'H' cobbled from an 'M'. The Squadron codes are a bit disappointing - they looked ok on the sheet, but appear more like Sky Blue than Sky on the model. I am hoping the D-Day stripes lessen the disparity. Upper wing roundels also came from the Mk XII kit, and lower wing roundels from a Red Roo sheet. The latter appear to have a slightly larger than normal white but having a separate red I didn't see this until too late. Perhaps a later version? I think I can live with it.

Not one of my better efforts, but I think it will look ok on the shelf when done - perhaps towards the back.

p?i=e9ee9241cc545d3f4924eb02beae4ef7

p?i=07d1f2ada74153e1d3c5ab60df675197

p?i=98d9bc602a2c6d4862368eac30137ea4

Edited by Peter Roberts
  • Like 2

Thanks Pete I have just been back through your WIP and seen all your hard work.  A Mk V rear section, great work .  I built the Academy kit a long time ago using the Daco nose correction, which does improve things somewhat, but still is too deep.  I have a 32nd scale conversion for a MkXIV high back using the Revell MkIX as a donor so will see how that goes when I eventually get round to it.