Late War Luftwaffe Colors -- Does this look right?

opus999

I'm new to late war Luftwaffe colors. I'm working on a 1/72 FW-190A-8 with a late war scheme (RLM81/82/76).  I am using my Hataka (Lacquer) Late war Luftwaffe set and this is the result of the RLM 81 and 82:

ZZKpoLa.jpg

1XGBiFK.jpg

Of course shooting it was maddening, because I couldn't quite get the colors right, but this is fairly close.  In reality the green and the violet are a little more vivid.  As near as I can tell, the RLM 82 green is about right, but the RLM 81 is really a puzzle to me.  I seem to remember seeing paintings of green and violet German A/C (Me-262s), but most often the RLM 81 is more of a brown than a violet.  It just seems awfully purple to me, but I'm new to this so i could be wrong. 

Eduard's instructions for late war FW-190A's look about the same for the Violet, but a little darker for the RLM 82, but in general it seems like my paint would be authentic. The reviewer on "the modelling news" seemed to think that the Hataka Acrylic version of RLM 81 was a little vivid, but felt it was in the realm of possibility. 

Any thoughts?

Edited by opus999
make it clearer
  • Like 2

Afraid I don’t have an answer but am in the same boat as you building an end of the war 109 in the same colours and using Mr Color

paints. Will watch with interest. 

James

• Like 1

If the question is 'does it look right' - then answers are going to be entirely subjective, based on an individual's perception, or expectation of what later war colours 'should' look like.  There was a thread on here recently which was essentially a dispute on a similar issue - and it got a bit fraught towards the end.

To my untrained eye, the brown looks too violet and almost metallic in tone, while the green looks too bright.  However, in reality, the colours could be completely accurate and my opinion could be wrong.  Unfortunately, there is unlikely to be a definitive answer.. :) 

• Like 3