Revell 1/72 Halifax B. MkII/1a, 138 Sqn. Operation Anthropoid

Even though this build is well advanced I thought I would put it on as I'm between Group Builds!

Back when this kit had first come out my youngest daughter asked me what I would like for Christmas, unusual because she always never had any money, so I thought I would ask for this latest Revell offering.  I had just got back into modelling model aircraft after a long layoff and while perusing e**y I came across the AML set for this kit.

I was intrigued by the story of L9613 so decided to do that one.  The story of the operation can be found here : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Anthropoid

DSC_0009

I wasn't aware of issues with the kit around the engine necelles, and to be honest I wouldn't have been that bothered, but this just seemed an opportunity to build something a bit different, and it was a cheap deal at the time.

So, I've been fiddling with this for a few years now, firstly looking at the drawings you have to fill in some of the round windows and open up the side rectangular ones., this not explained in the instructions.  I looked at the clear sprue found what I assumed were those windows, I did wonder why they didn't quit fit the openings and opened them further!  I realised I had used the two upper fuselage windows, the side ones are not included in the kit as neither of the versions have them.

Oh, well, I would just have to scratch some from clear sheet, but a quick e-mail to Revell explaining what I had done and offering to pay for the windows had them send me a pair, no charge!

The following photo's show where I am up to now.  The fuselage almost ready to mask and paint. I have decided to fix the side windows and make them more to their actual width, just added some plasticard, letting them harden then a bit of filling and sanding down flush.