Yellowed decals and using Future on canopies

Hobo

Hello everyone,

I am curious if anyone has any info on these two questions:

1. If you dip canopies in Future floor wax to improve their appearance, does it eventually yellow the canopy over time?

2. I have previously taped yellowed decals to a window that was exposed to the sun for 10 hours and it completely removed the yellowing. Unfortunately, those decals are long gone. So, I was wondering if the yellowing eventually returns to these decals over time. Thanks everyone.

9 minutes ago, Hobo said:

1. If you dip canopies in Future floor wax to improve their appearance, does it eventually yellow the canopy over time?

Ive been doing it for 20 years + with zero issues.

9 minutes ago, Hobo said:

2. I have previously taped yellowed decals to a window that was exposed to the sun and it completely removed the yellowing. Unfortunately, those decals are long gone. So, I was wondering if the yellowing eventually returns to these decals over time. Thanks everyone.

if you seal the decals on the model with Future/pledge/ name your gloss coat of choice. Id say no. I believe the yellow comes from oxidization of the glue and once its sealed in should be pretty protected ? 

Dennis

Edited by Corsairfoxfouruncle
  • Like 2

• 1 month later...

Just picked up some cheap Ariana Afghan DC-10 decals made by Runway 30 (RW3021) from the big H which are quite yellowed. Thing is that these are just blue stripes on a clear film; will the exposure to sunlight trick work on the clear film?

18 minutes ago, Abandoned Project said:

Just picked up some cheap Ariana Afghan DC-10 decals made by Runway 30 (RW3021) from the big H which are quite yellowed. Thing is that these are just blue stripes on a clear film; will the exposure to sunlight trick work on the clear film?

Always has for me.

• Thanks 1