Flyhawk 1/700 Prince of Wales

During furlough from work i have been building up my RN fleet, mostly destroyers. I decided to try something bigger. After looking at the excellent WIP builds by Gisbod and OutcastJoel, I decided to have a crack at the Prince of Wales. I am very much a learner and make many mistakes but I enjoy myself.

qiLgJWa.jpg

part of the fleet

TvcODqi.jpg

POW

ZFNnx66.jpg

forward superstructure

RMj5l4N.jpg

boat deck.

None of the superstructure is fixed as yet. Lots of touch up to do, but i do this as i go along. I am not very good with photo etch but i am learning as I go along and very slowly getting better. All comments and criticism really is welcome as this is how I learn.

Mick

Edited by smyfe
PIC
  • Like 10

This looks very good. I am slightly jealous of the wooden desks you and guy have.

Having had a quick look through the photo of your fleet I think this should be spectacular!

I especially like the destroyer in the front in western approaches white and blue, that is a beauty, is there a thread on it?

59 minutes ago, OutcastJoel said:

This looks very good. I am slightly jealous of the wooden desks you and guy have.

Having had a quick look through the photo of your fleet I think this should be spectacular!

I especially like the destroyer in the front in western approaches white and blue, that is a beauty, is there a thread on it?

No thread sorry, this is my first build post. The bottom two are IBG's Hunt class destroyers built out of the box ( they include the PE ) and all paints supplied by Jamie@Sovereign Hobbies. I can recommend the IBG kits, including the HMS Zetland that you like.

Mick

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Jamie @ Sovereign Hobbies said:

Looks like this is the kit to be building just now. Nice work Michael :)

I'm almost tempted to get my own one back out to progress it a bit ... sadly I have anything but time on my hands just now though!