Hello everybody a Quick question concerning Identification ? Is this Spitfire truly a Mk.VII ? ⬇️ Or is it a mis-marked HF.Mk.VIII ? I looked it up, 453 squadron never operated the type ? Only three Squadrons listed using DU* codes. #’s 70, 80, 312 Squadrons. I personally think its 312 (Czech) . I admit I'm no expert and only checked Wiki pages, so If 453 Sq. is accurate then thats good as well. 

aT1t2rI.jpg
If it is a Mk.VII can an Eduard Mk.VIII be backdated/modified to a VII ? 

And this one ⬇️ Is this camouflage even a possibility ? Or is it someones fantasy or poor photo interpretation. I know some aircraft in Italy that started with Desert schemes of DE/MS were sometimes overpainted with green paints. Primarily P-40’s if I remember correctly. I believe this to be a Mk.VIII though a Mk.IX is also possible ? 

BU891Tr.jpg
Please any thoughts or info would be helpful ? 

Dennis

Edited by Corsairfoxfouruncle

It is a Mark VII. This particular aircraft belonged to the station flight at RAF Skeabrae. The markings were probably applied by 312 Squadron when they were at the Airfield at one point and it was used by 453 when they were there at some point as well (I have decal set with these markings somewhere in my stash).

To backdate the VIII to a VII is achievable as per this thread (I have an Eduard VIII I’m planning to backdate)

As for that Camouflage pattern on a US aircraft. I guess it’s possible (though haven’t seen any pics that prove a three colour pattern (though I am not really a USAAF modeller)

• Like 1
  • Thanks 2

Dennis, according to Morgan & Shacklady, MD114 was an HF VII, fitted with a Merlin 64. 453 did operate Spitfires, but their code was " FU".

And as to HL.F, I've never seen a Spitfire painted like that. I suspect it's either poor photo interpretation, as you say, or someone's been smoking something ...

• Thanks 1

1 hour ago, Rafwaffe said:

This particular aircraft belonged to the station flight at RAF Skeabrae.