Academy 1/72 P-47D Thunderbolt

This has gone together great so far. I haven't bothered with adding seatbelts or any other details to what is a very minimal cockpit. This build is purely a test bed for a natural metal finish, if this goes to plan I have something else lined up. 😉

A little bit more filling and sanding and it will be ready for a coat of something.

20200114-212257.jpg

20200114-212321.jpg

• Like 9

9 hours ago, stevehnz said:

My initial thoughts are it looks a bit to steelish for a NM ali skin aircraft but I'm guessing there is more to come.

Steve.

You're absolutely right Steve. However this is my first try at this so it might not get much better. 😂

Roger. 

• Like 1

Another light coat or two of the Super Stainless. This might not be the right choice of colour but as it's an experiment /learning project I'm not overly concerned. I'd welcome any suggestions of which of the Mr Color Super Metallic paints would be more appropriate, if any, as it's spraying beautifully and I would like to use it for my next Bubbletop.

20200116-161848.jpg

20200116-161914.jpg

I'll give it 24 hours before masking and painting the olive drab and red on the cowling.

Roger. 

I had a bit of a panic then, the orange peel effect on the port upper wing you can see in the photo isn't actually on the real thing, it must be the way the light fell on it or some other trickery.... thank God, phew!

Edited by Roger Newsome
Paint panic.
  • Like 7

On 13/01/2020 at 18:28, Roger Newsome said:

The recent talk of a nmf group build and shiny Mustangs

This sounds like a good show. 

I'll have a look around for this. 

Your photos are much better now. Looking good. I've got a bottle of humbrol Decalfix that I use often, and when I've doubts about the adhesion. 

But straight on to glossy paint shouldn't be a problem I reckon. 

8 hours ago, stevehnz said:

Looking good Roger, photo sizes are just fine too.

Steve.

Thanks very much Steve. 👍🏼

6 hours ago, rob Lyttle said: