Looking for advice on seascape dioramas?

Michael Morris

Amongst twenty billion other projects, I'm looking at modelling a series of dioramas of different spacecraft landing/splashing down in 1/72 scale.  This would include splashdown dioramas for Mercury, Gemini, Apollo and eventually the new Dragon spacecraft.    I've never tried to model a seascape before.  What is the best way of modelling a seascape in 1/72 scale?

Thanks

• Like 1

watch some youtubes and practice first. I think of all modeling, creating water is the most uncomfortable while it's happening, yet 12 hours later when you see it dried and from a bit away, it looks fine.

tons of videos out there to gain inspiration.

http://www.terranscapes.com/oceanboards

• Like 2

Er... it may seem an odd thing to say, but there ARE seascape dioramas and vignettes on Britmodeller. Some have WIPs if you want to take the time to search for them. I don't have the time, but here are two very nice patches of water....

Good luck.

Rearguards,

Badder

• Like 2

On 07/01/2020 at 13:37, Michael Morris said:

Amongst twenty billion other projects, I'm looking at modelling a series of dioramas of different spacecraft landing/splashing down in 1/72 scale.  This would include splashdown dioramas for Mercury, Gemini, Apollo and eventually the new Dragon spacecraft.    I've never tried to model a seascape before.  What is the best way of modelling a seascape in 1/72 scale?

Thanks

Depends. If you want to see under the water at all then resin but it sets flat so there is more work involved to get wave crests etc but for 1/72 that may not be too hard. Otherwise if you want a real rolling sea I'd look at clay then add toilet tissue on top with pva then just paint it the relevant sea colours. I've done both recently and found each entertaining with different finishes. If you want more info feel free to ask.