“What is this madness?” It’s a Freedom Gundam MG 1/100 by Bandai WIP

Hello and welcome.

This area of Britmodeller is new ground to me I have been stalking a few builds over here recently looking for inspiration on building Gundam suits. (Excuse me if my terminology is a bit off I’m new to these kits). I’m finding some good WIP builds but nothing that goes through step by step like what I’m used to on the other side, mainly it’s finished kits or finished parts, not a bad thing but I was looking for a WIP that might help me build THIS. 😍. I was gifted this lovely looking kit by a work friend on my birthday in April who has far too many in the stash.

49008612481_8e5407f37e_b.jpg

I decided that this would be my next build and I’d do the WIP exactly how I do them for my other kits.  It’ll be a bit photo heavy and I’ll be learning on the job. I’ve gleaned some info about how these kits go together and they seem a lot different to your regular Airfix our Tamiya kit but we shall see.🤩 I’m planing on doing a nice amount of weathering on this but I’m not sure how you go about building and painting. Folk seem to build first and paint together (alien to me) or paint in chunks frame them armour?
Oh I don’t know but I do know it’ll be fun🥳 so here goes let’s open the box....

I’d be honoured if some of you guys would follow along and help me out if I’m headed in the wrong direction. Here goes....

49008079168_240df921e9_b.jpg

Okey so lid off and I get another lid?

Nice pic though. 😍

woah!!! There’s a lot in the box.

49008822947_c6d4f37366_b.jpg

I love the feel of this crisp Bandai plastic and the cool multi coloured trees are sublime. 🥰

49008612411_01ca5f53de_b.jpg 49008821772_4946855dcd_b.jpg

loads of bits and my first stumble block.

49008078888_8339b2ca81_b.jpg

I don’t know why I expected the instructions to be in English but what with Tamiya kits and the like you never know. So  even still how hard can it be eh. 🤪

49008822992_ae8e2e8b4d_b.jpg

just like Ikea. 😩