F/A-18F Super Hornet - 1/72

Thom216

Alright, my first time building a jet in like forever! Or at least, not one that was not sci fi...🤔

Anyway, this is a build for a coworker's uncle, due for Christmas. I was looking for the Revell F-model super bug, but those were either prohibitively expensive or not available. Another option was the Hasegawa kit, but that lacks cockpit detail, made up for with decals, and very short intake trunking. The Academy kit falls between the two in my estimation, and from the pics I've seen turns into a very fine looking model of the subject.

Here are some obligatory box art and pics. The box art is really attractive!

spacer.png

Sprue shots, I like the wings and body already being together. One less long join to worry about.

spacer.png

As for external detail, I'm no expert, but this looks mice and refined. I'm going to have to light on the paint! It should look good with a light wash too.

spacer.png

spacer.png

Here's the cockpit with its nice detailing. There are some decals for it, but mostly it'll be up to some careful painting to pick things out.

spacer.png

spacer.png

Here's one of the seats. I have some PE coming for it, including belts to dress it up some.

spacer.png

Don't know how well they can be seen. but there is some nice rivet detail along the rim of the canopy. It does have a seam down the middle to be sanded away, but that shouldn't take too long.

I'm going to keep it wrapped until it's needed, at which point it will be secured in the down and locked position.

spacer.png

Bottoms of the wings here and the elevators. The elevators will need a little work, seeing as they are intended to sit neutral, and I'm going to want to droop them at the back.

spacer.png

Then we have the belly and the gear bays. The bays themselves look nice. They could use a little more wire and piping detail, but otherwise nice.

Except for the mounting holes for the gear doors. Those are ugly. I'll see what I can do about them.