White metal Figures

missile-monkey

Hello again everyone,

I'm looking for advice and guidance from the great and the wise of Brit Modeller land.

I am just about to take delivery of some 1/72 scale figures in white metal and resin. for a project I'm working on. My question is what is the best type of paint for these materials enamels or acrylics.? Is there any brands that are better than the others?  I am a complete novice when it comes to this type of modelling being an unashamedly naval/FAA geek.

As always your assistance will be appreciated. 

Regards

MM  

2 minutes ago, missile-monkey said:

Hello again everyone,

I'm looking for advice and guidance from the great and the wise of Brit Modeller land.

I am just about to take delivery of some 1/72 scale figures in white metal and resin. for a project I'm working on. My question is what is the best type of paint for these materials enamels or acrylics.? Is there any brands that are better than the others?  I am a complete novice when it comes to this type of modelling being an unashamedly naval/FAA geek.

As always your assistance will be appreciated. 

Regards

MM  

the primer is the main thing,  though something like Halfords grey prime would moist likely be fine, or a thin coat of Mr Surfacer.

FWIW I find Vallejo acrylics are good for figure work, others use enamels, some use oils.    

what paint do you usually use? That might be your best bet as you are familiar with it.

• Like 1

Most miniature painters coming from model building started with enamel paints and then moved on to acrylics. That's how I started as well. The move to acrylics was a no-brainer, as they were easier to blend and dillute - Layering was the technique of choice back then. This was really a PITA with enamels.

Mainly high end painters and those of larger historic figures use acrylic basecoats and blend with oils.