Help needed to add aging to a paint job

Adchap

Well I have not made a model for over 30 years and this is my first attempt. This is my first foray into using an airbrush and acrylics. I used Vallejo  model air for this build. I didn’t realise how things have moved on and the detail now included. Any ideas how to add aging to the paint so it doesn’t look like new would be appreciated.

I have a 1/48 P-51d tamiya mustang 8th AF or a Messerschmitt Bf109E-4/7 Trop and can’t decide which to do next ?

1 hour ago, Adchap said:

Well I have not made a model for over 30 years and this is my first attempt. This is my first foray into using an airbrush and acrylics. I used Vallejo  model air for this build. I didn’t realise how things have moved on and the detail now included. Any ideas how to add aging to the paint so it doesn’t look like new would be appreciated.

I have a 1/48 P-51d tamiya mustang 8th AF or a Messerschmitt Bf109E-4/7 Trop and can’t decide which to do next ?

Have you done  a build, which is how the first part reads, or are you doing a build, and want advice?

Ageing paint,  well, always worth bearing in mind that many planes had short service lives, and never got that faded.

but, first, study photos,  there are now plenty of period colour shots on the net, (beware of colourised B/W pics though)  and my advice is to pick a subject and look closely at that. I'll  to find some links, but for US there is a site on the 8th AF in Briatin that has loads, and there is a site of WW2 Luftwaffe colour.

DO NOT look at models, there are way too many 'artistic' models, which create a negative feedback loop of over done effects.

Ageing paint can be done in many ways. 

Post shading of the base colours with lighter versions misted over.

filter washes.

chalk pastels. 

Or combinations of the above.  

Due a variety of very boring factors, I really don't get much done modelling wise, and as such I did make an effort earlier this to actually blinkin' finish something.