New KMoon Airbrush: and another + thinner

DMC

I’m prefacing this mini review/opinion by stating that I am not an expert on airbrushes or airbrushing. It is simply about my recent purchase of an inexpensive Chinese made and what I think of it.  No doubt there are quite a few BMs that have many more hours of experience than I do.  If you are one then please feel free to jump in with any comments, suggestions or criticism. 

A few few weeks ago, my 35 year old Badger 150 became unusable.  Coincidentally, I had be researching inexpensive airbrushes on YouTube and the KMoon brand was brought to my attention.  Mr K Moon, if there is a mister Moon, manufactures a lot of airbrushes.  Many  thousands, in fact, and they sell very inexpensively.  I happened across one I liked the look of but couldn’t find a review of it on YouTube.  I bought it anyway....for under a tenner.  Under a tenner, how does he do it?  The eBay vendor had a 100% positive feedback rating and the brush arrived pdq.  I spent a little time familiarising myself with it and then had a trail shoot with it.

Here are a couple of photos and a few comments.

My airbrushing set-up

TL: my compressor, a birthday present.  So far it has worked ok.  This type starts out at about £50, sans tank, on eBay. With a tank, and a lot of other stuff, it goes for around £80, or more.

TR:  the brush itself.  I like it so far.  It has a little heft to it and is comfortable to handle.  The hose came with the compressor and has a quick release connection.  Very useful and recommended.

BL:  secs and a parts breakdown.

BR: paints and thinners, etc.  I use Vallejo acrylics and thinners.  They go on pretty smoothly and dry quickly.  Care must be taken when shooting as they can dry up in the brush and clog it up.  I use a few drops of Vallejo retarder to, well, retard the drying time.  

resized_4a975c0b-9fc7-4b49-82f4-d0337b0b

The KMoon’ features: