RAF Dark Green - which colour is the best match?

Toryu

Dear Brit fans at Britmodeller,

My apologies that I ask this question that I'm sure has been answered a million times. Problem is, that I have very little knowledge of RAF colours (shame on me!), and for once I would need it.

Revell, Humbrol and/or Tamiya, if possible. If there's any better product from somebody else I'd be interested, too.

Many thanks, Michael

What era? AFAIK there was a tonal shift somewhere in the late 60s / early 70s.

Cheers,

Andre

edit: never mind, I thought I was in the Cold War section...

Edited by Hook
Personal Stupidity

1 hour ago, Toryu said:

Revell, Humbrol and/or Tamiya, if possible. If there's any better product from somebody else I'd be interested, too.

worth stating  if you want acrylic or enamel?

Colourcoats are the way to go for enamel BTW.   for this

1 hour ago, lasermonkey said:

though my preference is for Sovereign Colourcoats, as I implicitly trust their research and commitment to accuracy. Plus they give a beautifully smooth finish.

XF-81 is rated well for acrylic. 

• Thanks 1

Hello Toryu,

I use Humbrol 75 for RAF Dark Green. Here is a comparison against the colour chart published in "WWII British Aircraft Colours and Markings":

spacer.png

I found that tins of Humbrol 163 I bought a year ago are almost a perfect match for discontinued Humbrol 108 (RFC Green?); far too brown to match "fresh" Dark Green.

Kind Regards,

Antti

• Like 4
  • Thanks 2

1 hour ago, Antti_K said:

Hello Toryu,

I use Humbrol 75 for RAF Dark Green. Here is a comparison against the colour chart published in "WWII British Aircraft Colours and Markings":

spacer.png

I found that tins of Humbrol 163 I bought a year ago are almost a perfect match for discontinued Humbrol 108 (RFC Green?); far too brown to match "fresh" Dark Green.

Kind Regards,

Antti

For me it has to be Humbrol 108, but suspect I will turn to 163 when my newly discovered final tin of the former runs out.