Matchbox Canberra PR9: XH168 58 Squadron RAF Wyton c.1963

spacer.png

This is Matchbox's Canberra PR9 original issue from c.1978.    I built her to celebrate the 70th anniversary of the Canberra's maiden flight on May 13, 1949.   The only mods I made were to open up and glaze the front and rear camera ports, add a towel rail type antenna and make the strakes around the rear lower fuselage more obvious (probably too much so).   I added the wing tanks that were spare from a previous Airfix build.

The fit was good except for the engine nacelles which are moulded with separate front and rears and I needed to do a lot of filling to get the joints smooth there.  Decals are the original Matchbox ones.  I didn't weather her as a) I am not very good at it and b) I have a pic showing her looking nice and clean.  The decals are from the kit and held up well after 40+ years.

spacer.png

spacer.png

spacer.png

spacer.png

spacer.png

Here she is with my other built Canberras - the silver one on the ground is the Airfix B(I)6 with an uncorrected nose (c.1993), the camo one is Frog(spawn) B(I)8 (c.2008) and the MSG/Black on is the Airfix B(I)6 with a Frog nose grafted on (2018).

spacer.png

David

• Like 23
  • Thanks 1

Always nice to see a Canberra built David. Make it from a Matchbox kit, add some tanks on and slap on a smooth coat of Silver paint and you’ve got yourself a sharp looking PR.9. 

Thats a nice collection your mustering up there.. what versions next? 

Cheers.. Dave 

7 minutes ago, Rabbit Leader said:

Always nice to see a Canberra built David. Make it from a Matchbox kit, add some tanks on and slap on a smooth coat of Silver paint and you’ve got yourself a sharp looking PR.9. 

Thats a nice collection your mustering up there.. what versions next? 

Cheers.. Dave