Sleeper's Hopelessly Optimistic T-39 AEV in 1/48

SleeperService

The GB entry you are all waiting for! Continuing a long tradition I'll have a go at the T-39 Armored Engineer Vehicle prototype. As it's me best place your bets on how far I get :D

This is the beast

tumblr_pozkd3TeMM1t8blhlo2_1280.jpg

And this is the Tamiya kit I'll be butchering posed along with a box containing other failed projects.

tumblr_pozkd3TeMM1t8blhlo1_1280.jpg

I really don't like the Tamiya metal tubs however, on this kit at least, they fit to the plastic pretty well, and have reasonable detail so I'll stick with it. I've got the Hunnicutt books which are just about all I can find for this vehicle so any missing information will require creative thinking. AFAIK the real vehicle is long gone so that's that.

At the very least I'll provide a reference for most pathetic progress especially as I'm still learning vac-forming for my Meteor in the 50s NATO/WarPac GB.

But it'll be fun...   

• Like 6

Hi SleeperService. Great looking vehicle and great idea for a project! I'm looking forward to following this one and I hope you get chance to complete it in this GB.

Kind regards,

Stix

• Like 1

This is one that ive been waiting for. You're choice of an engineering vehicle prototype is great. I wanted to get as much a variety as possible across the history of the type. My expectations so far are being met. The turret doesn't seem to be over modified. The dozer blade and box/counterweight shouldn't be to hard to scratch ? If it were 1/35th the dozer blade might have been availiable ? 🤔 Maybe buy a blade in 1/35th, and cut it down to the proper size ? 

Dennis

• Like 2

I contemplated building a T39 for this GB too, but decided to do something else in the end. Nice to see someone else take up the challenge, I look forward to seeing updates.  

• Like 1

Greetings Fellow American Armor Nuts!