This site uses cookies! Learn More

This site uses cookies!

You can find a list of those cookies here: mysite.com/cookies

By continuing to use this site, you agree to allow us to store cookies on your computer. :)

Homebee

1/48 - Yakovlev Yak-7b by Mars Models - 3D renders

52 minutes ago, Graham Boak said:

Not the right wingtips for a 9.

I'm no Yak expert, but didn't the Yak-9U and  9P use the same style of rounded wingtip as the Yak-7? So it could be either. Anyway the render is very basic at the moment.

1 hour ago, Tbolt said:

I'm no Yak expert, but didn't the Yak-9U and  9P use the same style of rounded wingtip as the Yak-7? So it could be either. Anyway the render is very basic at the moment.

Seems I'm no Yak expert either (good eye, Graham!), but the -9U and -9P had wingtips that were closer in appearance to the -9D than the -7, slightly more rounded-off than the -9D, but not as pointy-rounded as the -7. But the -9U and -9P didn't have the oil cooler intake/housing under the nose. As you say, the render is very basic at the moment, but it's a pleasant enough guessing game given the rarity of the subject around here! So, until we see more detail, it appears to be a late Yak-7.

John

8 hours ago, John Thompson said:

Seems I'm no Yak expert either (good eye, Graham!), but the -9U and -9P had wingtips that were closer in appearance to the -9D than the -7, slightly more rounded-off than the -9D, but not as pointy-rounded as the -7. But the -9U and -9P didn't have the oil cooler intake/housing under the nose. As you say, the render is very basic at the moment, but it's a pleasant enough guessing game given the rarity of the subject around here! So, until we see more detail, it appears to be a late Yak-7.

John

That's true. The Yak-7D though had a new wing with a more angular wingtip, which maybe the same as the standard Yak-9 wingtip, I don't know.