This site uses cookies! Learn More

This site uses cookies!

You can find a list of those cookies here: mysite.com/cookies

By continuing to use this site, you agree to allow us to store cookies on your computer. :)

paulj

Radio Control Aircraft

Hi

I am thinking of expanding my modelling interests to Radio Control Aircraft for flying outdoors. I think electric would be easiest to start with. I am a total newbie and looking for any advice to get started, and good forums dedicated to radio control.

Hopefully there are some members on here who have experience and can hep me get started.

Thanks

Hi Paul.

My advice would be to forget the ARTF (almost ready to fly} kits and find yourself an old vintage design.  They're much more stable being originally intended for free-flight.

They will virtually fly themselves and also fly much slower that the ready built stuff and if you get into difficulty they will generally sort themselves out if you leave them to it.

Over the years I've taught many people to fly RC and always had greater success using a vintage kit or plan built model.

Have a look for something designed by Ben Buckle.  Great designs and so easy to fly.

Hope this helps.

Chris.

I'm all for more traditional design, but I would avoid the vintage style of model. The weather being what it is in the UK, you want something that can fly in a controlled manner in a bit more than flat calm. In 30+ years of R/C flying and the club I was in having a flying site at 600 feet above sea level, I can count on one hand the number of times it was calm, warm shorts and T-shirt weather at the flying site. In fact one year, we still had snow in the ditches beside the road in June. I've flown all sorts of models apart from jets. IC powered, electric, gliders, aero-towing, heli's, multi-engine, novelty. By far, I preferred aircraft with proper engines, either petrol or methanol. Electric was just a bit soulless.