Correct Spray mask for Tamiya Primer

Dee1234

Hi,

I am new to modelling and are in the process of building a Zvedva Star Destroyer. I have been using the Tamiya Fine Surface Primer & Insignia White outside. I have put on some Safety Goggles and the following 3M face mask - https://www.screwfix.com/p/3m-4251-maintenance-free-organic-vapour-particulate-respirator-ffa1p2rd/13038

when I am spraying as well and some Nitrile gloves. Is this enough protection? I thought it would be but its just my chest feels a bit funny after spraying so was wondering if maybe I had the wrong filters? I could not smell the paint though and had a a further plastic liner over my head and the filter just in case.

Thanks for reading and any replies.

Dee

I used to use the same mask myself and never had any problems with a funny feeling chest. In fact it was a very decent mask. I've since swopped for a different one which is also very good. 

This one from Screwfix:

DRAEGER X-PLORE 3300+ PAINTERS & AGRICULTURAL HALF MASK WITH FILTERS A2-P3 (73127)

Edited by Steve Noble

59 minutes ago, Dee1234 said:

I thought it would be but its just my chest feels a bit funny after spraying so was wondering if maybe I had the wrong filters? I could not smell the paint though and had a a further plastic liner over my head and the filter just in case.

Um, you had a plastic liner over your head? Maybe the chest problem was you were struggling to breathe rather than inhaling any fumes! :)

Personally (and I am an asthmatic) I've never had any problems with the fumes from Tamiya primer - the pretty colours I see immediately after spraying always amuse me  :)

In all seriousness, the main reason I wear a mask is to avoid the paint dust rather than the fumes. I also have a very powerful spray booth that while it was more expensive than others, has been worth every penny! The volume of air it displaces is quite impressive.

• Haha 1

Hi, Dee.