Gloster Meteor, camouflage scheme question

Thomas from ARC

Hello all,

next question regarding the Meteor. Today I received the FR. 9 kit. One of the marking options suggests Slate Grey (Hu 31) and MSG 637 (Hu 165) for top and PRU Blue (Hu 230) for lower surface.

Did this scheme actually exist? I am a noob on the Meteor.

The other scheme is  DG 241 and DSG 638 on top and PRU Blue, which is known to me.

Thanks for support,

Thomas

• Like 1

If you grab-hold of Flightcraft's book Gloster Meteor in British Service by Martin Derry and Neil Robinson, there is a colour drawing of WX965 in this very colour scheme.

Part of the caption reads  "...WX965 was one of the few FR.9s to be finished in the High Altitude Short Range Day Fighter Scheme, comprising Light Slate Grey and Medium Sea Grey upper surfaces with PRU Blue under surfaces to Pattern No.2, i.e. high up the fuselage sides."

If I recall, the only other aircraft I knew-of that used this scheme were some Canberra PR.3s.  Another aircraft that hardly falls into the category of High Altitude Shore Range Day Fighter!

Neil

Edited by neilfergylee
The inevitable typo...
  • Like 1

Yes its Light Slate Grey not Slate Grey 

I did my Canberra in this scheme using xtracrylix paints which look good to me. 

10b.JPG&key=e5992b268537536c40ff23b9c419

There is no Humbrol Light Slate Grey, if you want enamel then Xtracolor do it.

Julien

• Like 7

3 hours ago, neilfergylee said:

If I recall, the only other aircraft I knew-of that used this scheme were some Canberra PR.3s.  Another aircraft that hardly falls into the category of High Altitude Shore Range Day Fighter!

Neil

And B2s from 10 Sqn

• Like 1

The aircraft in the middle is the kit subject. When you look at them, there were quite a few FR9s in this scheme. The famous profile of a 208 Aircraft with orange nacelles was a mis interpretation of this scheme

2-squadron-meteor-mk-9-s-germany-1955_or

Edited by Dave Fleming
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 2