Airfix 1/72 therapy build thread: Wildcat done!

Shamelessly plagiarising   @stevej60 and @06/24 build threads here and here, I have decided to try and build an new tool Airfix 1/72 every week until my impending personal Brexit next year. After a serious illness back in 2016, I’ve found it difficult to focus and concentrate and am using it as some self-prescribed therapy to get myself back into a happier place (not that I’ve much to complain about these days).

My last few builds gave me a sense of focus and that I haven’t had for nearly 18 months so as a trained psychologist, I think it’s a case of “physician, heal thy self”.  And the stash gets reduced woohoo! Having the luxury of my 3 station workroom plus separate dedicated spraying room, its easy to have always Airfix 1/72 on the go.

As my first ever model in 30 years was this lovely beastie from said Margate Company, it seems right and loyal to continue with them.

It may also be of use for some of you that have them in the stash but haven’t touched them yet, judging from my experience with FW190, I’d lay in some serious quantities of superglue and a powerful grinder… So let’s see what I can make of the others. Here’s the pile to take me through the next few months . It’ll be handy to have it in one thread and I can see if my skills are improving, plus my OCD is satisfied

44320593502_623dde0c04_b.jpg

Progress so far:

1/72 Bf 109E-4  WIP  RFI
1/72 Hurricane 1 (in 4 days!) WIP  RFI
1/72 FW190A  WIP  RFI

1/72 Tomahawk RFI

1/72 Red Arrows Gnat WIP   RFI

1/72 Spitfire 22 WIP  RFI

1/72 Spitfire PRXIX WIP RFI

1/72 Douglas A-4B Skyhawk WIP  RFI

1/72 F-4F4 Wildcat WIP  RFI

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________