Uss Franklin CV13 1/350

I've finally finished my flat top after 9 months on and off. This is my 4th 1/350 ship , 1st been the Bismarck Revell straight out of box. 2nd HMS KGV (tamiya plus WMS etch) , 3rd USS New York straight out of box with etch included (Trumpeter). After learning and getting more experience using etch and other add ons , I'm slowly getting better. I use to model in the 70s 80s as a kid , the WW2 planes stuck on my ceiling. I needed something to do to relax so started modelling again , this time a more serious. I'm still learning so please give your thoughts and anything that can improve my modelling skills. 

Cheers Leon

Uss Franklin CV13 1/350Uss Franklin CV13 1/350Uss Franklin CV13 1/350Uss Franklin CV13 1/350Uss Franklin CV13 1/350Uss Franklin CV13 1/350

Uss Franklin CV13 1/350Uss Franklin CV13 1/350Uss Franklin CV13 1/350Uss Franklin CV13 1/350Uss Franklin CV13 1/350Uss Franklin CV13 1/350Uss Franklin CV13 1/350Uss Franklin CV13 1/350Uss Franklin CV13 1/350Uss Franklin CV13 1/350

Edited by Mariner1972
  • Like 29

• 2 years later...
On 08/10/2020 at 14:04, Franklin181181 said:

Hi Excellent work on the USS Franklin, I have just bought the kit, which PE brand did you use? I only found the USS Ticonderoga PE by Eduard and was thinking of adapting it to the Franklin.  

I used the Ticonderoga you are thinking off.  Very similar, I remember there are a few bits different but not much. Walkway is one of them. I looked at loads of pics of the real franklin . And adapted it that way.

Dancona -  I only do 1/350 ww2 ships , currently started the North Carolina. I have a few others in stash , but already looking at another carrier , maybe Hornet or Lexington? I’ll see. One thing with US ships is there always nearly different in camo .