3-D printing

Simon Cornes

Just discovered an 18mm wheel will cost me £80 !! Well we know what the answer to that one is!! I will be making one out of card and tube!! Clearly the technology is not yet available to your 'average' modeler!

Simon

• Like 1

• 11 months later...

Hey Simon

The problem is it is not a easy process. First off you need a computer, thats going to cost you around a $700 - $1,200 US. Second you need the proper software that will run anywhere from $500 - $15,000 US, yeah thats right quality software ain't cheap! Now comes the long tedious part learning how to use the software.     I'm a retired Automotive/Aircraft Design Engineer. I worked on a drafting board for nearly 25 years then spent the last 12 years on various CADD systems Catia, Unigraphics, Solid Edge and NX 5. These systems cost many thousands of dollars. Third you have to have a 3D printer. there are cheap ones that run a few hundred to the professional ones that are many thousands of dollars. 

This is why it isn't necessarily the best way to create parts for models, unless you have the time, money and effort to do it, but then when would you find time to model...lol

Ron G 

• Like 1

Hi Ron

Thanks for the reply. I guess you only get what you pay for! I think we expect that 3-D printing is going to make life easier for us. It is becoming clearer to me that traditional model making skills are really the best way forward for most things! 

Cheers

Simon

If you are looking for a one-off design (which you were) then the problems are as above.  If you are lucky enough to want something that someone else has already produced then it is a lot cheaper.  You are then faced with the problems of ridges/layering etc that will need removing without breaking the fragile part.  That doesn't mean the technology is not a great aid to some modellers, for some models, just nor for you this time.