Upgrading airbrush

Mark99

So, I bit the bullet and purchased a basic PremiAir airbrush a couple of years ago, to see if I got on with using one. I found it improved my painting quite a bit, but now feel it’s probably time to move on as my painting feels limited.

But blimey, what a choice and range and I feel quite perplexed as to what to get!

It doesn’t need to be the best there is and I’m not a novice using one. I prefer gravity feed, maybe different size nozzles or cups though? I have a good compressor and air tank set up

Due to my large size and shovel like hands I mainly build 1/48 aircraft and 1/35 armour, my paint of choice is normally Vallejo Model Air

Any suggestions as to what a good choice may be?

Budget can be flexible if I can find the right one

Cheers 

Mark

A friend of mine uses a Harder & Steenbeck Evolution Silverline.

He says that the H & S is designed for the user, easy to use, easy to clean

He is a Church Minister, ex-civil engineer; so he knows about the quality and won't lie about it  :innocent::)

I’m an Iwata user but I would second the recommendation of H&S.

I came close to buying H&S but was working in the US and was able to pick up two Iwatas for the same price as the H&S 2in1.  That is a peculiarity of the US though, Iwatas are much cheaper over there.

So why would I recommend the H&S over Iwata in the UK.

1) there will be fanboys of each but looking objectively, I think they are both as good as each other, little to choose in quality and performance

2) generally the H&S is simpler to strip down, clean and maintain.  The possible exception is the Iwata Eclipse which is a similar design to the H&S

3) you tend to get more bells and whistles on the H&S for the same price point