Kansas Tornado II (Academy Razorback)

Hi all,

I really shouldn't be adding another model to the production line when there are so many already there, but I can't let a P-47 group build go by without trying to contribute something. However, between the other builds and the unfortunate timing (by far my busiest period at work starts now), I'm not going to stretch myself. So I've opted to buy a simple kit in the form of Academy's P-47D Razorback:

resized_c1dc2c68-e9d8-4b38-99df-29aef750

I've never built a Razorback before in any scale but I have recently built this kit's sibling via the Special Hobby P-47M boxing and found the build to be pretty painless, so I don't anticipate any difficulties with this. My preference is to build "Miss Behave" of the 355FG, but I can't find decals in 1/72, so I'm going for "Kansas Tornado II" using decals from Kagero:

resized_5734894e-6730-4419-9f96-c2ef504d

Never done a NMF finish with invasion stripes before, could be interesting. I believe there's some uncertainty over the cowling colour, but I rather like the idea of a black or blue-black colour as shown in the Kagero profile, rather than the more blue finish sometimes seen. I hope I can do it justice!

• Like 6

Thanks, both. I think I might get to start on the internals this afternoon; since I'm currently masking up a Bf110 canopy, it'll come as a great relief!

Nice to see another Cambs modeller as well, Blitz. Patrice, I really must try a Tamiya Jug one day, they get so much praise.

Wow, does this kit come together fast! I think the etch and resin that came with the Special Hobby P-47M substantially extended the build. So quick in fact that I picked up another yesterday courtesy of Creative Models (well, I needed to add about £8 to my cart to get free postage, so it made sense). A cut price decal sheet from Kitsworld also acquired courtesy of ebay, so I might be extending my contribution to the group build...