Eggplant grey/purple!!!

thepureness

Hey peeps

I'm trying to solve a little issue around this modern Russian air force colour of eggplant grey.

I've check a few photos of aircraft and there seems to be different example, some seem a very dark purple, to some that look just dark grey. I know there are a couple of brands of paint out there like akan and mr paint, but I can only really use acrylics due to young children in the house so don't want to be stinking the place with lacquer paint and I've never used akan paints before. I'm testing out mixing some tamiya colours as that is my preferred brand.

Any open ideas peeps

10 hours ago, thepureness said:

I've check a few photos of aircraft and there seems to be different example, some seem a very dark purple, to some that look just dark grey.

The shade seems very prone to weathering / bleaching.

Cheers,

Andre

• Like 1

43 minutes ago, Nigel Bunker said:

AKAN do an acyrlic version of this colour.

Yes  it's reference 73166, Coastal Craft may still have this in stock although they are giving up the range, and were discounting them at the Nats. It can be found in set 47335( 100 anniversary of the Russian Air Force).

1 hour ago, thepureness said:

I heard bad things about Hataka, did they improve their paints because i read about nightmares on their first release

Their very first batch had a formulation problem. All good since then and they had the bottle to admit it, and send new paint out to people who bought the bad batch. 

• Like 2

• 2 weeks later...
  • 11 months later...

I realize that this thread is a year old, but I may have the answer using Tamiya paints.

The Russian color is similar to RAL7015 or FS 36076, but with perhaps a bit more "purple" to it.

I've tried a 50 : 50 mix of XF-63 ( German Grey ) : X-16 ( Purple ) and this is pretty close - I would test different ratios if this does not satisfy you.

Tam. XF-63 is often called FS 36076, BTW.