Sabre Mk. 6

Plumbum

I just ordered the 1/72 Hobbycraft F-86F-10/ Mk 6 kit. I am going to

model a Golden Hawk Mk. VI and was curious if the kit is pretty accurate

and if it isn't what "tweaks" does it need? I am thinking maybe the scoops

for the fuselage? Not really  sure as I have no real knowledge on Canadair

Sabres. Thanks---John

Check the wing tips, no extensions; the fuselage vent locations; the leading edge slats or not

Take a look at IPMS Canada.  They used to have some good information too.  Cheers.

You're right about the scoops.

GH Sabre 6 would have the short-span, 6-3 wing with slats and the F-86F-10 would either have narrow-chord with slats or retrofit 6-3 wing with wing fence. So the wing will be wrong for one of them. Long time since I made the HC Sabre (nice kit overall), so I can't recall which one is correct as kitted.

Ok so I check the wing tips for what I know not, add scoops but not sure where and

use a 6-3 wing but not sure of narrow or slats. Thanks, I guess.---John whose more confused

than before!!!!!

The kit has the short span, slatted wing, you'll need to scratchbuild the "sugar scoop" intakes on the underside of the fuselage and add the vents on the sides of the fuselage. I seem to recall that the kit is a copy of the Fujimi kit, which garnered good reviews.

Edited by silverkite211
added information

On ‎12‎/‎13‎/‎2017 at 11:48 PM, Sabrejet said:

You're right about the scoops.

GH Sabre 6 would have the short-span, 6-3 wing with slats and the F-86F-10 would either have narrow-chord with slats or retrofit 6-3 wing with wing fence. So the wing will be wrong for one of them. Long time since I made the HC Sabre (nice kit overall), so I can't recall which one is correct as kitted.