Jagdpanzer E-25

Hi this is my first build on Brit modeller, the 1:72 Jagdpanzer E-25 by Pegasus Hobbies. For those interested you can find a review and sprue shots here.

I originally bought this set of models about 15 years ago and only got as far as a dry fit of the parts (which basically click together anyway), that's also when I stopped making models too. Now 15 years later I decided to get back into modelling and pick up where I left off. These two little tanks will probably be grateful of the long wait tho, because the teenage me would have been happy with just slopping a single colour of enamel paint over them and calling it a day. Over the past 15 years I've read about lots of different painting techniques and weathering effects and I'm eager to try them out for the first time. As such one E-25 is going to be dirtied with mud and the other is going to get a snow treatment with a white wash. I'm thinking of mounting them on a base and making my first diorama as well but I'll see how things progress. Apologies for the crappy phone camera, I'll dig out my proper camera tomorrow which should hopefully help a lot.

After many years of sitting on a shelf the bare plastic had accumulated it's own natural weathering effects :P After a good scrub they where good as new tho.

e25_72_01_zps8wff0pkl.jpg

Vallejo Dark Yellow was airbrushed as the base coat/primary colour.

e25_72_02_zpsgy1lmw2g.jpg

I decided to try two different techniques, one with a blu-tack mask to make a tortoise style camo pattern and the other was done freehand in the typical late war three colour camo.

e25_72_03_zpsdwkuss8h.jpg

I hand panted the base colour of the tracks, tools and exhausts, as well as adding matching camo to the wheels of each vehicles. I'm not that happy with how the three colour camo came out, I need more practice making finnier edges so that one is going to get the winter treatment.

e25_72_04_zpsbntgwnzd.jpg