HMS Hood upgrades

redwiper

I've now got a Trumpeter 1.350 HMS Hood,

I have been looking at the upgrade/wood deck/photoetch for this kit, there seems to be a vast aray of bits available, and I'm a bit confused as what to buy.

As I have never worked with photoetch before, what would be the best way to improve the ship without going the whole hog with photoetch [ I've looked at the Lionroar set and thought "wow" ]

Is a wood deck worthwhile or should I just paint the deck?,

Is the turret/gun barrels upgrade worth it?

I do not want a Museum quality model, just something thats an improvement over the basic kit.

Roger.

• Like 1

Hi Roger. How would you describe your general competence or comfort level with detailing in general and ships in particular?

Some of the biggest visual impacts come from railings and ladders. Next would be anti-aircraft weapons maybe? The latter tend to be amongst the fiddliest though.

It's oft said that Big Blue Boy's set is the best single set for this specific kit. The kit's main gun turrets are just wrong. There are various resin and 3D printed alternatives. I'd sort the turrets before putting brass barrels on the kit turrets personally.

Wooden decks do make life a bit easier. There are many deck snobs around who deride these but most never share photos of their superior skills and of those who do, their paint work is usually inferior to a commercial wooden deck. There are those who genuinely can paint them more convincingly, but they are few and far between.

I'd suggest having a quick scroll through my build thread of the same kit here:

You can compare the detaily bits to the kit parts and see for yourself what you think is worth the effort and what is beyond what you're looking for.