Hi all

Fatboyslow

Hi everyone, I thought I would introduce myself 😀

My my name is Phil and I have zero experience building models! I am in my early 40's with no artistic abilities but after finding my way here from a mtb forum I am very intrigued and want to give it a go!

I have joined to get advice and tips, I accept that my efforts will never match some of the builds I have seen on here! I have 2 young children a busy job and race solo mtb 12 hr races so am after a hobby I can quietly lose myself in for a few hours at a time!

i like the idea of military models, but have no idea what would be a good starting point! I have Alton models and Farnham models close by so will probably buy something from there I think 😀

So any hints for a or a complete novice? 

What subject matter are you most interested in - planes, cars, trucks, sci-fi, real space, fantasy, ships?

What scales would you prefer to build in?

My advice would be to start with the simplest kits in whatever genre you like. In other words, don't spend too much money at first but use these easier models to pratice the basics in assembling and painting and decalling.

There are lots of "how to" videos on you tube (some better than others) and there are many books out there which cover the basics. Magazine articles can also be helpful.

The other area is gathering together a set of basic tools, brushes, paints and glues/cements. Again, there is a lo of material out there to guide you through what you need to get started.

Before you rush off and buy paints and glue, I would suggest buying an Airfix starter kit. There you get the paints needed for the model, as well as glue and brushes. It's not the best paint, but it will get you into the hobby and is a good way to get yourself "learning" as such.

I second what Drift says here, the airfix starter kits are simple builds but lay the foundation to greater things.