British Airways Tristar

speedbird

Having taken the plunge into the strange alien world of civil aircraft modeling, I have decided I want a BA Tristar. As already said in a previous post I know very little about this subject and although I'm not a rivet counter I do like a reasonable level of accuracy. My question is this, can the Eastern Express Lockheed L1011 Tristar (Delta Airlines) kit be used for a British Airways example?

Yes it can, it's the long fuselage version so can be used for Tristar -1 and -100. They have announced a short fuselage -500 in Pan Am markings and that can be done in BA colours too.

Paul Harrison

If you buy it from here 

http://www.26decals.com/epages/62035508.sf/en_GB/?ObjectPath=/Shops/62035508/Categories/26_Models you can get it with BA decals.

And don't forget AA do the best window decals 

http://www.authentic-airliner-decals.de/epages/17895661.sf/en_GB/?ObjectPath=/Shops/17895661/Products/D144-L01

I'm not a TriStar expert but I think the engines are slightly different. If you compare the kit engines with pics on the net the back (technical term) seems different.

Cheers,

Ian

4 minutes ago, Turbofan said:

I'm not a TriStar expert but I think the engines are slightly different. If you compare the kit engines with pics on the net the back (technical term) seems different.

Cheers,

Ian

The L1011 exclusively used the RB211 so the differences must be relatively minor.

The Tristar had 3 very subtly different exhaust nozzles during its lifetime. The first had the long hot section with thrust reverser fairings on it as depicted in the Airfix, Revell, Otaki and EE kits. The second did not have the fairings, and the third was shorter . The first type shows the long nozzles and fairings on the hot section:

1280px-Rolls_Royce_RB_211_engine_from_Lo