Tamiya 1:72 FW 190 Gelb 1 + - from Tunisia 1943

Plenty of time to start and finish this little butcher bird here! The box

DSCN3052_zpsdiweoxkc.jpg

is quite BIG for such a small kit, almost everything is included

DSCN3055_zpsgy51psdx.jpg

on one single sprue, except the lower wing piece, clear parts and poly hubs. Compare this to all that excess plastic in current Eduard kits!!!

The instructions are

DSCN3053_zpseqn9ywlk.jpg

printed on high quality paper and very clear. To paint these

DSCN3054_zpsuh9bpyzo.jpg

there are very nice b/w diagrams with only Tamiya paint numbers. They recommend shooting the RLM 74/75/76 scheme using their spray cans!

So, I started painting the various bits and pieces

DSCN3056_zpshchunb3g.jpg

DSCN3057_zpskos5yg9n.jpg

and soon I had nothing more to paint! Taking a close look at the pieces I became convinced there are quality plastic kits and then there´s the Tamiya quality plastic kits. And if the fit is as good as they say... for 10.90€ retail price in a Finnish hobby shop this is a real bargain!

EDIT: Yes, they are tins of RLM 78 and 79 up there :-)

Regards, V-P

• Like 2

Couldn´t keep away from building a bit last night. Overall a pleasant experience, the fit IS good, engineering well done and the parts count is minimal. I got the fuselage, wings, engine and cockpit (minus the IP) assembled.

DSCN3058_zpsvrw30bzo.jpg

Don´t worry, I haven´t forgotten to add the cockpit tub, the wings are just clipped on for looks! I assembled the landing gear legs while they were still attached to sprues. The wheel hubs were the easiest to paint, ever, and I´m very happy with them.

DSCN3059_zpsygmesbxh.jpg

It appears I still have some cleaning left in e.g. the leading edges. Many of the sprue gates were in natural cut points so more thanks to Tamiya engineers again!

Regards, V-P

• Like 2

Plenty of time to start and finish this little butcher bird here! <clipeti clip>