Donaldson International Britannia **FINISHED**

My contribution is hopefully going to be the Roden Britannia in the livery of Donaldson International, an Anglo-Scottish charter airline which operated a clutch of second-hand Britannias between 1967 and 1972. Although I’ve never built the kit before, several Britmodellers have posted beautiful Roden Britannias in RFI giving me a lot to live up to. The Boscombe Down machine also featured in the Made in Britain GB although I’m not sure if that model was ever finished.

Here’s the raw material ….

http://35941537875_8ea95fdc87_k.jpgSAM_2014 by David Griffiths, on Flickr

http://35771216142_d10f744eac_k.jpgSAM_2015 by David Griffiths, on Flickr

http://35941536965_eb577b9b5b_k.jpgSAM_2016 by David Griffiths, on Flickr

For reference I’ll mainly be using “The Whispering Giant” by Frank McKim, “Classic British Propliners” in the Aviation Archive series and “Bristol Britannia” Issue No.4 in the Airlines and Airliners series. For older aircraft books are sometimes better than the internet although the Britannia is pretty well documented on the net and Britmodeller has an excellent walkaround featuring G-AOVT and “XM497” which I believe is really G-AOVF, not that it matters.

I won’t actually start the build until the middle of next week since I’m heading off to Aberdeen for a few days and I won’t be home until Tuesday.

See you then.

Dave G

Edited by Skodadriver
Photobucket !
  • Like 8

Great choice Dave, it's a lovely kit. I'm still mulling over entering one - Caledonian or Ghana Airways. I've just about finished my first one in 26decals Transglobe colours.

One thing I have noticed is the nose wheels mounting recesses are too big for the pins on the leg. Not sure if anyone else has noticed this either?

• Like 1

Great choice Dave, it's a lovely kit. I'm still mulling over entering one - Caledonian or Ghana Airways. I've just about finished my first one in 26decals Transglobe colours.