Fiat F2 1907 Scratch Build ?

Hi Folks

Just thought I would post a couple of photos of a scratch build I am attempting of the Pocher Fiat. This is my first attempt at something like this and it seems to be taking rather more time than anticipated! At the moment I am not sure whether to attempt a full scratch build or to use some of the Pocher plastic parts, time will tell.

Chassis

IMG_5674s.jpg

Front axle

IMG_5690s.jpg

Edited by Engineering Modeller
  • Like 3

• 2 weeks later...

Some more photos of the build including some construction shots.

The chassis has been soft soldered and the engineering clamps act as a heatsink preventing previous soldering melting.

IMG_5676.jpg

IMG_5677.jpg

The rear axle is machined from a solid. Firstly I chain drilled the brass then machined the channel next removed the outside material with a hacksaw.

IMG_5678.jpg

IMG_5680.jpg

Preparing the axle for the shaft location.

IMG_5681.jpg

Finished axle

IMG_5732.jpg

• Like 1

Continuing with the build I fabricated the cab having first made a former from wood then bent the brass round the former, annealing along the way.

Again the engineering clamps acting as both heatsinks and clamps.

IMG_5712.jpg

IMG_5711.jpg

The sump was fabricated from a brass tube cut in half and then soldered to a frame.

IMG_5713.jpg

Sump fluxed and ready for soldering.

IMG_5714.jpg

• Like 2

Great stuff. I like the engineering skills shown and the level of detail that you achieve.

Thanks for sharing this build with us. Keep it coming.

Folks, many thanks for the kind comments I appreciate them.

The solder I use is standard plumbers together with electrical for the smaller pieces. There were a couple of exceptions to this on the front stub axle where I used silver solder first and then plumbers solder on the next component. As silver solder has a much higher melting point I could solder on the next part without fear of melting the previous joint.