Airfix Spitfire mkXII

Hello all, sorry I am late to the Group Build, but I would like to chip in with the Airfix 1/48 Spitfire mkXII. Box and sprue shots:

26565865452_6fc570885b_z.jpg

26565866772_631f0dd0c1_z.jpg

26385986470_36ed8e2291_z.jpg

26385988970_2da077825a_z.jpg

26385991730_82abd578a5_z.jpg

The parts all look to be in good condition, the only flaw I can see is in the transparency part 6 (top left in the picture) where there is a hairline mark, but would I think be covered by paint if I use that bit.

I have had this in the stash for a while now, and unusually it had not been removed from the plastic bags or shrink wrap. That made me wonder how there was so much dust on the transfer sheet!

I have one big confession to make - I have to admit I am not a Spitfire expert by a long chalk (and I would have to say I would not recognise any one mark from another). I will be doing this purely from the box, allbeit using different paints to those suggested in some places (Airfix seem to show the interior as being Beige Green H90).

My main hope with this is to do justice to the plane and Edgar by getting a decent finish to the joints and paintwork, something that I have never been able to do in the past with any Spitfire kit. I know this kit has issues, but there will be no corrections made by me on this.

Any comments will be useful, especially if I am about to do something catastrophic!

Upates soon, when it has dried off from its inaugural bath.

All the best,

Ray

• Like 1

Welcome to the GB Ray. I've always thought of the Mk.XII of a turning-point in Spitfire development where the shape began to evolve away from R.J. Mitchell's initial design in response to the extra power of the larger Griffon engine and the problems that created.

Welcome to the STGB Ray, it's not too late at all and there's still plenty of time to complete your model.