ESCI 1/12 F-16 Cockpit converted to F-16AM

Hi All,

Just coming back to modelling after a 10 year break and I'm posting a few of the things I had just finished before my absence from the fold.

This is a conversion I did of the old ESCI 1/12 scale F-16A cockpit to F-16AM standard. My day job is a simulation software engineer and at the time I was working on a sim of this aircraft for the Dutch and Norwegian AF. So I was lucky enough to have access to the appropriate TOs which hopefully means it's accurate! Although I'm sure some eagle-eyed Viper experts will spot something! :winkgrin:

As those who know F-16s will be aware, the F-16AM cockpit is very different from the old F-16A so I started by removing all the panels in the wrong place (most of them). From these I salvaged as many knobs and switches as possible. Then I assembled these in the correct place or scratch built from plasticard/rod any missing parts. The side stick I adapted from the kit version, but the throttle I whittled from a block of plastic as the shape is completely different. The AcesII seat is different too, primarly the headbox which has flip-out arms and the restraints which have some sort of immersion detection system attached. Oh and the HUD lens is made from a blister from a sheet of tablets :)

There are excellent builds of the original version here on Britmodeller for those who want to compare and contrast.

http://www.britmodeller.com/forums/index.php?/topic/234930073-esciitaleri-112th-f-16-cockpit/

http://www.britmodeller.com/forums/index.php?/topic/234957959-112-esci-f-16-cockpit/

Chris

F-16AM_M3_1_zpsbhri5lyv.jpgF-16AM_M3_2_zpsh4yign2n.jpgF-16AM_M3_LEFT_zps8qs0ut9t.jpgF-16AM_M3_RIGHT_zpsnvznxmj2.jpgF-16AM_M3_CENTRE_zpsztlq5ivj.jpgAcesII_BL_zpschhak1t3.jpgAcesII_BR_zpsv4n4setk.jpgAcesII_FL_zpsvbvl3zwf.jpgAcesII_FR_zpsmo9ulbpp.jpg

• Like 12

Beautiful work--looks spot on! One of the most convincing build-ups of this kit I've seen & awesome paint work...you've got me beat by miles!