Tarangus 1/48th SAAB JA-37 Viggen....New updates.

Hi everyone, just thought I'd post one of my latest builds to let you know I'm still alive and kicking. This is one of several that I've been doing recently for Airfix Model World magazine, (April's issue), where as a few of you know I now work as a full time contributor. It's been a labour of love for me as the mighty Viggen is a particular favourite of mine, especially the interceptor variant and is a subject that desperately needs to be produced properly in both 1/48th and 1/72nd scale. Being a firm 1/48th fan boy I was quite excited to learn that Tarangus were planning on bringing the model out in co operation with Czech company MPM in JA/AJ/AJS and SK-37 flavours and duly received an early production kit just after SMW last year. It all looked good in the box and to be honest is one of the best fitting kits I've ever built....however !, there are some strange errors which just cannot be overlooked if you're looking to produce an accurate Viggen especially at the price point at which this model is aimed at. I've been asked by a few folks to outline the details of the errors I found and how to go about correcting them, (again all pointed out in the magazine article)..

Cockpit...very basic, especially the seat. I opted to modify the Neo Mega resin set and seat to fit and whilst it's a bit of a faff it's a huge improvement, the kits glazing is beautifully clear but the very prominent frame line around the top needs to be thinned back down..

Fuselage...The fuselage extension plug needed to make the JA is included which is nice but it's the only piece of the kit that needs care when making up as a very nasty step can result if you don't line everything up properly.