Log Cabin

ShipbuilderMN

I really don't know what section this should go in! I have never done anything like this before, but recently decided to build a log cabin such as used in the Alaska Gold Rush of 1898. Here are the assembled walls, waiting for the floor and roof. I have made a pot belly stove to go inside, fitted with a flickering red LED. Also a Winchester rifle, woodsman's axe and oil lamp with a yellow LED inside it. The back is absent, so that from the front, it will present a snow-covered cabin, whilst in the back it will appear as a warm, cosy refuge from the Alaskan winter.

I am learning as I go along. Scale two feet to one inch!

Bob

Cabin_ready_for_floor_and_roof.jpg

• Like 7

Yes, it is mainly wood. The logs are 6mm dowels, but I felt they looked too smooth. So I added the bark in the form of silver crepe paper glued round them with white wood glue. When the walls were assembled, I painted them with burnt umber acrylic paint, allowing bits of silver to show through. This gave a very realistic appearance of rough cut logs. At the moment, I am having the greatest of difficulty making my computer work. It has been defragmenting since 0730 this morning and is behaving very eratically.

Bob

I did think about that, but there is a surprising length of dowel in it, and I don't have that sort of patience, especially in the weather we are getting at the moment :chillpill: The crepe paper probably makes for a better scale bark as well.

Bob

I have made more progress with the inside of the cabin. Just noticed that I need to put the door hinges on! :banghead:

The door looks like it wouldn't open fully because of the bunks, but that is just an opitical illusion, there is plenty of room

Bob

With_bunks_2_Large.jpg

• Like 3

Fantastic work so far; what have you used for the floorboards?