Zoom lens suggestions

JeffreyK

Hi guys,

I was wondering whether you could give me some advice on telephoto lenses. I've been attending 2-3 air shows a year for several years now and equipment wise I have a Nikon D3000 with a 55-200mm lens. I know it's not top notch gear, but not so bad either. I've been practising my tacking and shooting movements over the years (not just at the air shows) and I'm also getting better at waiting for the right moment. But I think the 200mm lens just isn't "big" enough to do a proper job. No matter how I try, there's always some blur/fuzziness and the colours are often a bit washed out except in the best of sunny conditions with the aircraft flying particularly low.

I've had a look at 400mm lenses, but not only are they beyond my budget, they also seem to be quite heavy and require a tri- or monopod.

Photography isn't really my main hobby and I'm under no illusion that I can match the results of the pros without lots more practise and much more expensive equipment. BUT, is there a suggestion how I can get somewhat better results with some moderate investment?

Would a 55-300mm lens be noticeably better? That would be 50% mode focal length compared to my 200mm, but would it really matter "in the field"?

Cheers

Jeffrey

I suspect the biggest problem you're having with the 55-200 (which isn't bad for what it is) is that it focusses very slowly, and at f/5.6 on the long end it's also quite slow. I used to have one and I struggled to get high enough shutter speeds for airshows (ditto for wildlife etc). The 55-300 is going to be exactly the same - it's slow (f/5.6 again on the long end) and slow to focus.