A BIG Rolls Royce

I am posting my build of the 1/8 Pocher Rolls Sedanca which I began in mid-February. I actually posted from the beginning on a US site and it's 18 pages by now and 140+ photos.

My friend Roymattblack urged me to post here. I remarked to him how much support and discussion his fabulous build of the Pocher Torpedo 'Star of India' received from the members here. Knowledgeable members directed him to materials and methods and encouraged him to meet the challenges every Pocher brings, and he outlined so well. The entire thread was very entertaining and instructional.

I have not had such a followng. Maybe I'm a poor builder or my choices in construction and finishes is not popular. My main hope in posting the build was to foster discussion amongst those who have built or admire, or are contemplating a Pocher classic. I believe there are more such members here and hope some of you will 'ride along' with me on this journey.

It's not my first Pocher, having done the Spyder in 1979 (!). I wish I had the skills then I managed now, plus the aftermarket support then was zero. Seen here:

A4_zpsd999c852.jpg

I will not post the entire WIP from the US here, but rather, hit the main points and then, when caught up to my current assembly, continue on a regular basis. That is, if I don't have you all yawning by then.

Completed so far are the main chassis, wire wheels and some sub assemblies like the exhaust system and steering system. I'm currently working the engine and transmission. As Roy described, many parts need to be done 'out of step' so they can be fastened before they are 'closed in'. You constantly go back and forward from a logical sequence. Being of Italian decent and building a 35- year old Italian model kit, I understand this perfectly... :clown: