FGR2 Newbie

Charliesausage

Hey guys

I was advised to post my original comments from the New Member area here, as you guys in the Cold War section may be able to help with my impending build?

I've copied and pasted the exact text below, please let me know what you know/can do?

Regards

C

Morning guys

Just thought I'd quickly introduce myself to you all as this is my first time on this website.

I am basically a newbie. I used to model quite a bit as a teenager but the years have galloped on, kids born and work commitments have meant that decades have gone by an I've only built 1 model since then.

Back in the day I build a whole airfield up in my mum & dad's attic, with Christmas tree light for runway lights and polystyrene hangers! I think I had a few Phantoms along with a couple of Bulldogs. Living close to RAF Leuchars at the time I obviously had one vocation in life.

A few years later and I sold my soul and ended up as a fresh faced 19 year old Armourer at RAF Leuchars. And to my sheer delight got a posting onto 228OCU!

Back to today!

I have just bought a Revel/Hasegawa 1/48 FGR2 from Fleabay. Apart from that I have nothing......and I mean nothing!

Over the next few weeks/months I will be asking for lots of advice and hope you guys can help?

As years/techniques/products have moved on, I would appreciate some help in choosing a FEW things!!

Glue

Filler

Paints

Brushes

Airbrushes

Thinners

Cleaners

Tools etc, etc

I'm sorry this is quite a lot to ask of you guys as I am new, but have read many posts and realise that you all seem like a VERY helpful and VERY knowledgable crew!

Oh and one more thing before I get carried away!

I am hoping to create a model from each of the Squadrons I worked on in my 25years working Fast Jets and want to start, as I said, with a Phantom. Does anyone know where to get a good set of 1/48 decals in 228OCU colours?

I will go for now and wait for some great advice

Cheers

Cahrliesausage

• Like 1