Airfix New Style Instruction Booklets

richierichbloke

Hello everyone, hope you all are having a very nice weekend.

Can I just introduce myself. My name is Richard Petts. I’ve been a Technical Illustrator for 30 years. The last 6 years, I have been lucky enough to work with the Airfix team at Hornby Hobbies and produce the assembly instruction booklets. These are for the new models that are designed by the Airfix Team at Hornby.

I’m really keen to hear what your thoughts are on our new style instructions. Using the grey rendered images and the use of red to show the location of parts that have been assembled in a previous step.

For the last six years, I have been creating instructions the traditional way, black and white isometric line drawings. Last summer the team and I discussed updating the instructions to something a little bit more up to date and exciting. We came up with keeping the line drawing but placing a greyscale jpg under the line work showing the 3D renders created in the CAD design.

There have been several new models with these new style instructions. These include the Lightning, Hawker Hurricane, Gloster Javelin, Quad bikes and Tiger Moth, and many more new in the pipe line for this year. This will include the new 1:24 Typhoon which I have almost finished, I’m pleased to say.

Please could you let me know what you think. Do you like them and does everything look clear and easy to follow? Or if anyone prefers the old style Instructions?

Look forward to hearing from you all. If anyone hasn’t seen the new style, I’ll and find a page I can upload on here shortly.

Have a fun weekend.

Best wishes

Rich

Edited by richierichbloke
  • Like 3

Hi Richard,the new Hurricane MK1 is the first of the new style instructions I have seen and used and from me it,s a big thumbs up! looking at it

from a new modellers viewpoint it will be a great help,they seem simpler and less "cluttered" than some instructions.