Piper PA28-161 Warrior II

Edit 18th April 2014 -

This build was originally in the Training types group build however due to work and other commitments progress has been very slow, so slow in fact that meeting the 4th May end date was going to be impossible, So I had the thead moved here to the WIP section.

Mark

My entry will be a conversion from an Airfix Arrow to Piper Warrior this is the machine I did my 1st solo in on 3rd August 1996 and probably half my PPL course in it too. Then later as an instructor myself I taught others to fly in it. It was operated by the Lancashire Aeroclub flying school at the time.

1052047M.jpg

Alan Mosiezny/www.abpic.co.uk

The build will go something along the lines of this build Cherokee 140

The kit shot:-

11630049236_07a9770241_c.jpg

Changes to make are:-

Reshape the wing outboard of the flaps

New nose based on the one made for the Cherokee 140 build

Modify the shape of the C & D windows

Scratch build undercarriage

Decals will painted on and inkjets

Scratch built prop and spinner

Plenty of home brew PE to be used

Roll on the 4th!!

Mark

Edited by Cheshiretaurus
  • Like 1

Okay Here's the plan

Most obvious difference is the wing this needs to be reshaped and extended I'm going to start by cutting along the chord line between the flap and aileron and also cut the wing tip off. The outboard section is going to be cut into 3 with the old aileron discarded and the remaining two parts reshaped to create the taper. The Aileron is tapered and has indents on the surface for stiffening so I'm going to create a new one using PE for the surface detail. Finally some plasticard will be used to create the remaining wing tip. I may use the old wing tip as a basis for this.

11692601984_018d229760_b.jpg