What color for SR-71A? How to weather?

airea

Hello everyone,

Currently I am building the famous Testors 1/48 SR-71 kit. I am fairly new to the hobby so for the first time, I have fully rescribed a kit, made scratch build landing gear bays with a lot of plumming, etc. The kit is not a high quality one but it is being a great learning experience for me.

Anyhow, I getting close to the painting stage and I need some help. I really liked working with Alclad on previous models and first thought about painting it with A-12 colors (1/3 black, rest metallic). Yes there is no SR-71 in A-12 colors and converting SR-71 to A-12 is something that I cannot manage. Then I have seen a few metallic A-12 models on the net and now I am thinking that painting SR-71 with A-12 colors may not be a good idea in terms of a realistic look. The models on the net seemed a little toyish to me, and I am afraid of ending with such a toyish what-if SR-71 with A-12 colors:)

Now I am thinking of painting the kit with its original colors. But photos of the real deal show that the weathered SR-71 is not fully black, as seen in this photo:

6-84-con-from-kc-1.jpg

So how can I achieve such an effect? How should I paint and weather it? It is grey on some parts, glossy on some parts etc.

Or should I try A-12 colors?

thanks...