Vulcan B1 Squadron query

Pete in Lincs

On the wall of a small BAE Systems office on Riyadh Airbase,

Is an 8 x 6 inch picture of a White Vulcan B1 coming in to land.

It could be Scampton's newly extended runway as the fence looks new.

The only markings that can be seen on the aircraft is a small

black 92, 93 or 94? on the fin. The shot is from the front left.

No one now knows why the picture is there, Or how long it has been there.

I'm just curious to know if anyone can speculate on what I've given and

maybe help with a squadron and maybe an approximate date.

Pete,

Obviously the number you mentioned might have no relevance to the Sqn concerned, and I am no Vulcan expert, but given the numbers you mentioned could they actually be 83 or 44 both of which were Vulcan operators. Very tenuous I know but just a thought!

Good luck

Mal

Edited by Canberra Fan

Pete, if it's white and definitely has straight leading edges then it can only be one of the two prototypes VX770 or VX777. Not sure what these numbers are, is it part of a serial or a separate number high on the fin ?. A couple of straight winged B1's were built, (in silver) but the rest of them came off the production line with the phase 2 wings which were kinked....interesting though.

Again, Thanks for the interest.

Definitely straight wings.

Two black numbers halfway up the fin but closer to the leading edge than the rudder.

First number looks like a 9 second one is indeterminate.

I wondered if they could be exhibit numbers applied for an SBAC show?

Ah well, I'll keep looking. Just curious.

Thanks again

Pete