BR52 questions

Madhatter

Hi all

I have the Trumpeter 1/35 BR52 and want to do some detailing on it.

I am hoping someone can help with the following questions:

1) What is the train scale (HO, N, O etc) equivalent of 1/35?

2) What would be the right sized "coal" to buy for the BR52's tender?

3) Does anyone know the sizes of the actual nuts and bolts on the chassis that surround the wheel axles (if that's the correct term) and what size would they need to be for 1/35? Does Archer make the appropriate sized dry transfer that could cover that or would I need to buy a punch and die set like the RP Tools Hex set?

Thanks for any help you can offer

Si

Hi, Madhatter

I seldom visit this section, but I have some experiences about trains and hope to be of help.

Short answers

1) None of this scale corresponds to 1/35 (O scale is 1/43,5)

2) 2 through 2,5 mm should be ok

3) generally the bolts are 25 to 35 mm, so dividing by the scale ratio they should be 0,7 to 1 mm.

Regarding the bolts and rivets you will find this link useful: link1. Yes it is in Italian, but it is a good source of suggestion.

I also noticed that the internet is quite full of images of this "Lokomotive". Take a look here: link2.

Best regards

Eugenio

Gauge 1 is the closest and that is 1/32 with a track gauge of 44.45mm. The best thing you can do with the coal is put a lump into a bag and give it a good bash with a hammer until it looks the right size, the last thing you want is "standard" size lumps in your tender..

Gauge 1 Scale 38 inch to 1 foot
ca. 10 mm to 1 ft Scale ratio ca. 1:32 Model gauge 1.75 in (44.45 mm) Prototype gauge 4 ft 8 12 in (1,435 mm)standard gauge

Smudge