Airfix 1/72 AW Seahawk - finished 10 Dec

Natter

OK, at last. After the 1/9 Bianchi bicycle I am in for the GB with my 1/72 Airfix AW Seahawk from a modern release gift set. The moulds are very much the original from about 1959. I have the Airwaves set for the MPM model, which I think I can adapt, the Aeroclub white metal seat and (not shown) the Falcon vacform canopy.

I have lost the original injected canopy and I have never done a vacform canopy before; oh yes, and you only get one vacform in the FAA set which I have. Best I don't mess up then, especially as I want it show it open. There will be no extra detail in the wheel wells, I will just box them in. I will try and do something with the aftermarket for the cockpit as it will be on show even if I don't open up the canopy. Now, just to prove it is all in bits, the picture:

aAWHawk001_zps600314a5.jpg

The kit decals will be used, though I know they are translucent and will need some backing when they go on. That's all for now, good luck to all GB-ers.

Nice choice Dave, done one last year and other than the see through decals, it's quite a simple kit. Which suits me.

Look forward to seeing this build, :popcorn:

Sean

So, after a week of no modelling I managed a bit this weekend. I have the fuselage closed up now and awaiting a bit of clean up; and a bit of a scribe if I feel brave. The cockpit interior was done with the photoetch for the MPM kit as I picked it up really cheap at a show. I know there's an etch set for the Airfix kit, but that's no challenge is it?!