Hi guys,

Welcome to the F-15 Group Build.

Saintsphil and myself are your hosts, any questions, please ask!

Plenty of variants to choose from, be it the A/B/C/D/E/I/J/K/S/SG, and there are plenty of kits from 1/144 to 1/32.

This is my first GB as host so i'll try to do my best!

Dave

Well said Dave!

Welcome from me too, I'm really looking forward to this GB.

Like Dave said, any questions just ask! I'm no expert on the F-15, but I'm sure someone will know the answer, there's certainly plenty of us signed up. Let's make it a good one

Phil

Hi Dave and Phil and looking forward to this GB!

I'm not a rivet counter myself but are there any noticeable differences between the A and C model? (I've a C but modelling an A!)

Thanks in advance,

Dermot

PS - anyone who has a spare drop tank in 1/72 would be superb...

The differences between a F-15A to F-15C are small.

The timeframe of the jet has the biggest effect but in model terms the main things to look at are the main gear wheel hubs and ECM antenna fit on pre MSIP jets. Once the MSIP upgrade started on all early F-15C/D's and remaining F-15A/B's in '88/89 at Warner Robbins AFB they were all brought up to the same standard with updated instrument panel,ECM fit including Chaff/Flare buckets. Later in life post Desert Storm you'd see most A/B jets fitted with later C style wheel hubs.

F-15C 84-0001 was the MSIP factory jet to leave the production line in St.Louis prior to that all Eagles looked the same.

Edit: Forgot about the early small speedbrake on early jets AF71-73. Jets from Fiscal year AF74+ had the normal full size speedbrake. The area directly at the bottom speedbrake there is a faired piece that should be a different shape on A/B models but 99.99% of people wouldnt notice the difference

• Like 1

Rule regarding the swap/trade/buy/sell channel has been added!

Don't worry Dermot, easy mistake to make.

Good number of build threads already up. Just a week to go!

Dave

Edited by DaveJL