Wessex HU 5 build thread, my first....

heloman1

Hi This is my first build thread and it seems as though it might get quite involved. The kit is the new Italeri UH sic.(HU) 5, which whilst accurate in outline it has some accuasy issue as to panel line positioning and the rivet detail. my source of reference is the very good 4+ publication on the Westland Wessex, so notes will refere to that and the kit instructions.To the purist read rivet counter if you must, there is a list, of which more later.

First image starboarrd fuselage showing the corrected drilling positions for the various aireals.

The kit box art just so there's no confusion...

IMG_4703cropre_zps3d2fc717.jpg

IMG_0271.jpg

The port side showing the same and the two replaceable panel moulding lines for the H-34 kit

IMG_0272.jpg

Nose section port and starboard.

IMG_0313-1.jpg

OK. enough for the time being in the next stage I will post my list of problems, solutions, rectifactions and solutions etc.

Happy Wessex modelling.

Colin

After Len pointed out the incorrect positioning of the fold in hoist trap door, I decided to act on it straight away. Taking dims from the 4+ drawings I repositioned th edoor and then filled the scribe lines' I cut a new door from .15 plasticard and the two bubbing strips.

IMG_0440_zps17ea68e0-1_zps600e3a4a.jpg

I then added the new door, the arrow top left indicates the correct line for the top edge of the platform door, one of the reasons the anti-slip decal not wanting to sit correctly. See Andrew Perins build post.

IMG_0442_zps5306e571.jpg

I then went back to the port nose section and drilled out the intake, the moulded in grill looks a little heavy.

IMG_0441_zpsb6b95086.jpg

Managed a little more work onthe Wessex this last couple of weeks, I'm afariad this build thread is taking a back seat to my Merlin build, apologies for the Wessexisti amongst us.