Grumman Wildcat F4F-3 - Early

rmcclure

Hi All,

I've never done a WIP before but now that I have some extra time on my hands I thought I'd give it a go. It certainly makes me think about the build more than I probably would normally. Next up on the bench for me is the Hobby Boss 1/48 scale Wildcat F4F-3 which I will finish in the early colours of USS Wasp CV-7. I'm currently fascinated by pre-war colour schemes and US aircraft were particularly jazzy. Here's the box shot showing the colours I'm aiming for as well as a few sprue shots...

boxshotcopy.jpgsprue2.jpg

DSC_2230-1.jpg

I've made a start on the cockpit - dryfit shot followed by glued and painted...

unpaintedpit.jpgpaintedpit.jpg

paintedpit2.jpg

I've never built a Hobby Boss model before but so far I'm happy with the quality of the parts and the moulded detail. All I've added so far have been tape lapbelts with some spare buckles I had knocking about. British and not American but I won't tell if you guys don't. My original plan had been to build a wheels-up model on a display stand but, annoyingly, the kit parts are all for a wheels-down version. The only part I'd need is a modified u/c cover but I'm put off scratching a pair because of the compound curves - I'd get it right or horribly wrong - it's one of those areas where there's no middle ground. I've a while to think about the options before I need to go one way or the other though.